Good Morning, Irish Stew!

I could talk about St. Patrick’s Day, but in regards to this stew, what I really want to briefly touch on is how fantastic Martha Stewart’s recipes are.

Look, I know she’s not a popular lady. She’ll never be thought of as warm and likeable and the gal everyone wants to be around. I can’t stand most of the folksy crafty stuff she does, I don’t care for a much of her line of interior decor, and I never have and never will watch her program. But the woman knows her recipes. Her cookbooks are some of the better name-branded cookbooks out there. Don’t know the first thing about basic kitchen skills? Check out Martha Stewart’s Cooking School and Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook. Not only are the tips comprehensive, the instructions clearly written and simply broken down, but the instructive visuals are also top-notch. How do you fold something into a batter? What’s the correct way to whip something? What’s reduction and when is it appropriate?

These aren’t just great books for novices, however. Anyone from beginner to experienced cooks can utilize these resources. Although, being a little high-end for my tastes, I do not own them. (Yet.) What I do have is access to Martha Stewart online and its wondrous bounty of recipes and cooking tips. Chances are if you Google search for a recipe, you’ll pull up something from this website. They’re definitely worth a look.

In the past, I’ve made a few Martha recipes. Those Mini Almond Tarts were an adaptation of her Almond Tart recipe. This veganized version of her “Irish Beef and Stout Stew” is what I served up for St. Patrick’s Day, but it was so delicious, I’m ready to make another pot any day of the year.

Irish “Beef” and Guinness Stew

Ingredients
– About two pounds of beef-flavored seitan
– 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
– 2 tomato paste (6 oz.)
– 2 pounds new potatoes, peeled and chopped in large chunks
– 1 large onion, chopped
– 2 cups vegetable stock
– 1 bottle (12 oz) Guinness
– Several garlic cloves, thinly sliced (amount is to taste – I used six cloves)
– Salt and black pepper to taste
– 2 boxes frozen baby peas, thawed

– In a Dutch oven, saute the “beef” and onion in oil, then add the flour and tomato paste. Stir until well combined, then add potatoes, stock, beer, and garlic. Season generously with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, lower the heat, then cover, leaving to simmer for two hours. Check in frequently, stirring to prevent sticking.

– After two hours, stir in the peas, add more salt and pepper (if desired), and cover again, leaving to simmer for thirty minutes.

– Serve hot with soda bread and a cold pint of stout.

(Recipe adapted from “Irish Beef and Stout Stew” from Martha Stewart Online)

One response to “Good Morning, Irish Stew!

  1. Martha has way too much free time. No one should be that crafty! That Irish Stew looks really good – but I think I’d use beef or lamb! The bread looks really yummy, too.

Leave a comment