Conversatin’ Fridays: If You Can’t Stand the Heat…

I’m getting pretty damn cranky. The heat index is rising to 105 degrees. At that temperature, I’m unlikely to stand let alone get in the kitchen and make anything to eat. If I could couple my complete disinterest in food with any kind of physical exercise, the summertime would prove to be a great dieting season for me. Unfortunately, movement is not exactly at the top of my list either.

Now, if you have air conditioning (central or unit) then you can pretty much ignore this topic. Because you don’t count. If you have air conditioning in your home, you can’t really complain about it being too hot to cook. Not that you can’t find it hot outside, but if it’s cool inside your house, stay inside your house. For the love of God, stay inside your house.

For those of us who don’t have air conditioning, either because we’re too cheap to pay for it or too poor to pay for it or some kind of combination of poor, cheap, lazy, the weather is getting to the point why ere not even a thousand fans are going to do anything but generate more white noise. Shade offers little relief, breeze offers little relief. You take a shower only to dry in moments afterward, then to start secreting sweat moments after that. Drinking a warm beverage helps a little, drinking a cool beverage helps a little, but it can’t make your body dry, it can’t keep the sweat from pooling on your back or on the bridge of your nose.

What can you do? Strip down to as little as possible, keep a sweat-absorbing hankie close by, and drink as much water as possible. As far as cooking, I think I will make some dinner around nine, when the sun has finally gone down. And that dinner will be whatever is my fridge that won’t require even a minute’s zapping in the microwave.

So what are you eating in the heat tonight? If you’re dining out, do you have a preferred spot to run to when the weather gets this steamy?

One response to “Conversatin’ Fridays: If You Can’t Stand the Heat…

  1. I grew up in a house without a/c, lived in college dorms without a/c, and lived in Japan 2 years without a/c. I swore I’d never again live without a/c, and I haven’t (except for a brief 4 months in NH and I was ‘lucky’ enough to be there when some highly unusual weather hit — 100 degrees for 3-4 days in August and I was miserable and cursing the lack of a/c). I am very grateful for our a/c. So while I am currently comfy, I still remember those awful sticky, sweaty days. When we were kids, summer dinners were chicken salad or pasta salad – definitely cold stuff. Followed by popsicles. And I spent a lot of time at the library/mall/movies!

Leave a Reply

