CSA #1: It’s Easy Being Green

As I have mentioned before, me and my partner have signed up for a season’s CSA subscription to Garfield Community Farm, a volunteer-run, non-profit farm in the upper reaches of Garfield, just a hop, skip, and long jump away from James’s place in Friendship.

One of the reasons the CSA membership to GCF caught my eye is that while other CSA organizations offered more options on subscription length, type of goods, and pick up points, Garfield Community Farm seemed so direct, not just local but super local. Signing up for the subscription meant going to the farm to pick up the produce, walking the very land that was going to grow our consumable goods.

CSA subscribers are also asked to donate some of their time to the farm itself. On pick up days, starting around 6:00 pm, volunteers handle a variety of tasks and chores, all of which benefit the farm and the overall organization. After a few summers of half-heartedly growing a few herbs in my kitchen and on my porch, I’m looking forward to lending a hand… and getting that hand dirty.

But enough with the ramble. On to the veggies!


On the left, a pound bag of mixed greens. On the right, pea shoots.


Radishes!


Kale (L) and spinach (R). Mmm…


Fresh tarragon (L), a cup of brown rice (center), and field garlic.

I am envisioning a weekend of beans and greens. If anyone has a good idea of what to do with the field garlic, let me know.

6 responses to “CSA #1: It’s Easy Being Green

  1. There’s nothing quite like freshly picked, pulled, cut, or dug scallions, radishes, lettuce, spinach, peas, carrots, onions, potatoes, squash, cabbage, corn, herbs, etc. We used to have a big garden; we shared it with the groundhogs and rabbits. 🙂 Enjoy!

  2. I used to love getting the field garlic. It works wonderfully in couscous. I also like to dice it finely and throw it in my scrambeled eggs. Well, actually, it worked wonderfully in everything I put it in. I love garlic that works like green onions.

  3. Is field garlic the same thing as garlic scapes? Looks the same. Make pesto with it. Mmmmmm…

  4. Kait and Mike, both fantastic ideas for the field garlic. I seriously wouldn’t have thought of making pesto with it. Consider it done.

  5. I’m a little late with my comment, but besides a peasto, we put our CSA field garlic/garlic scapes/green garlic in the greens (kale/spinach/turnip greens) when we wilt them.

  6. Also late to the game, but if you pickle the scapes, you can have a seriously elevated falafel pita with yogurt in a month.

Leave a Reply

