Good Morning… Cauliflower

A recent post for Cauliflower gratin with mustard-sage cornbread crumbs over at the terrific So Hungry I Could Blog got me thinking once again about my on-going struggle to like cauliflower. When I mentioned this in a comment on the post, Caitlin replied that this year is dedicated to liking mushrooms, grapefruit, and fish. Pretty admirable to take on all three, I’d say. (My bet is that by the end of the year, she’ll have figured out how to work all three ingredients into a dish.)

Anyway, it’s perfectly reasonable to question why one would need to make any sort of food resolutions, especially if you’re the sort of person that can eat just about anything. It’s alright to have preferences, and it’s just fine to prefer not to eat something. And yet, many of the most open-minded diners I know continually struggle with disliking some food items. To someone who can eat nearly anything, is it just too restrictive to have anything that is out-of-bounds?

I’ve done battle with green beans, tomatoes, sauerkraut (which I now not only tolerate, but love), kidney beans. This past summer, sparked by my friend Jason’s suggestion to try the Gobi Manchurian at Tamarind, I decided that it was time to take on cauliflower. I’ve eaten it spiced and fried and pureed into a creamy soup. I have not, however, conquered raw cauliflower, which isn’t supposed to have much flavor, but still. Something about that albino broccoli freaks me out.

And yet, I’m forcing myself to eat it. Why? I could say it’s because I want to be able to eat anything and everything that is put in front of me, but that might be a bit too general. What I really want to know is if there is anything that I can’t like. So far, everything I thought I didn’t like, I learned to appreciate and, in some cases, learned to love. But maybe there’s that one thing, something I haven’t even thought to attempt, something that no matter how it’s prepared, how it’s served, how hot, how spicy, how sweet, how breaded, how smothered in sauce, a food item that no matter what is done to it, I still detest. And when I find that thing, you can rest assured that this is the one thing that I do. not. like.

Anyone else making a food resolution this year? (And don’t say to eat less of it, cause life is not worth living if your plate is half full.)

2 responses to “Good Morning… Cauliflower

  1. No food resolutions. But now I’m thinking about cauliflower with cheese sauce… or pureed with carrots… maybe I’ll resolve to make a cauliflower dish in the next couple weeks! It’s been a while, even though I do like it (but fresh, not frozen).

  2. I don’t know if I can manage a dish that includes all three of my worst nightmares, but I’ll keep you posted! 😉

    Good luck with your food resolution!

Leave a Reply

