Vegan A to Z: Double Chocolate Blueberry Brownies

 I admit, it’s been far too long between Vegan A to Z posts, and it seems like every time I do one, I’m kinda, sorta, maybe cheating a little. I mean, the D in this post is for “double,” not exactly a daring choice.

My original intent was to make a vegan version of the junk food classic Ding Dongs, which sounds so appealing, I may do it regardless. But the recipe for “Fudgy Wudgy Blueberry Brownies” in Veganomicon caught my eye.  Due to shortage of supplies, I had to make a few alterations to the recipe, which probably is to blame for the good, but not great outcome.

Don’t get me wrong, they tasted great. Actually, they were just my kind of brownie – sweet with a little added sour from the fruit. But the texture was off. What should have been a big, fudgy block of brownie was thin, chewy, and instantly hardened when cooled. Hence the shortened cooking time. If I were to try this again, I’d either do the 40 minutes in the 13×9 pan, or the full 45 minutes in a 9×9, or some smaller variation.

Double Chocolate Blueberry Brownies

Ingredients
– 2/3 cup plus 1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips
– 10 ounces blueberry preserves
– 1/4 almond milk
– 3/4 cup sugar
– 1/2 cup canola oil
– 2 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/2 tsp almond extract
– 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
– 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
– 1/4 tsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 1 cup fresh blueberries (optional – I did not have the blueberries, but I do recommend using them.)

– Pre-heat over to 325 degrees, then grease a 9×13 baking pan.

– Combine the blueberry preserves, soy milk, sugar, canola oil, and extracts and mix on high speed. Sift in the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Stir until well mixed using a fork.

– Melt the 2/3 cup chocolate chips and add the melted chocolate to the brownie batter.

– Fold in the 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and blueberries (if using), then spread the batter in the baking pan.

– Bake for 40 minutes. As noted in the original recipe, a toothpick inserted will just come out kind of fudgy, so it’s hard to test the doneness of the brownies. They say 45 minutes, I say 40 minutes, it just depends on how gooey you like your brownies.

– Remove from oven and allow to cool.

3 responses to “Vegan A to Z: Double Chocolate Blueberry Brownies

  1. I’ve never tried putting bluberries in my brownies but these absolutely look amazing. Very nice

  2. I made these brownies using the ingredients exactly as called for in the book and they turned out great. I “won” Veganomicon as part of a vegan gift basket at a nutrition meeting that I attended in November. I am loving that book!

Leave a Reply

