Introducing: Vegan, A to Z

Like many active bloggers, I’m a nut for challenges. In my experience, I have found that restriction does lead to the greatest surge of ingenuity. Inspired by the variety of amazing offerings by the VeganMoFo bloggers, I’ve decided to take on a little project. Starting this week and continuing on for the next (you guessed it) 26 weeks, I’ll be doing a weekly feature entitled, Vegan A to Z, where I cook and bake a vegan recipe for every letter of the alphabet. Not exactly complicated, I understand, but whatever. We like to start simple here at Forked!

First up, a few weeks ago Sarah over at I’m So Hungry I Could Blog shared a terrific recipe for Spiced apple drop cookies that looked so good, I couldn’t wait to try them.

Veganizing Sarah’s recipe was exceptionally easy. I swapped out the butter for vegan margarine. The one egg became three tablespoons of apple sauce. Otherwise, everything stayed the same. I used a big Gala apple for my apple chunks and local apple cider as well.

The only other change is simply an omission: Sarah’s delicious looking cookies are topped by an apple cider vanilla frosting, which sounded terrific. Alas, I ran both short of supplies and time and decided to keep my cookies naked. They’re still delicious, with a crunch from the walnuts and little pockets of soft sweetness courtesy the baked apple chunks. And the recipe yielded nearly forty cookies, which means, even for this Cookie Monster, enough to share!

Woohoo, one down, 25 to go! Next up, ba-ba-ba- B!

(Make sure to check out Sarah and Caitlin’s excellent blog for this and other recipes!)

3 responses to “Introducing: Vegan, A to Z

  1. This is great! I’m always curious how things will taste should I veganize them, and you did all the work for me 🙂

    -Sarah

  2. For a second, based solely on seeing the picture, I thought you were cooking armadillo for A. Then I read your post! These cookies look delicious! Looking forward to the next 25.

  3. These cookies look amazing. I just won a slew of vegan cookbooks at a Silent Auction. I am loving them . . . .if you ever need some new idea for your A to Z recipes, I am happy to share my new cookbooks.

Leave a Reply

