Good Morning, Cruller and Cruller Imposters

To your right, you will observe a traditional cruller, topped with chocolate icing. From the Wikipedia entry on the Cruller:

A traditional cruller (or twister) is a twisted, usually ring-shaped, fried pastry made of dough somewhat like that of a cake doughnut, often topped with plain powdered sugar; powdered sugar mixed with cinnamon; or icing.

The name can also refer to the French cruller, a fluted, ring-shaped doughnut made from choux pastry with a light airy texture.

This, my friends, is a cruller. That delectable, light-as-a-cloud donut that delivers the sweetness satisfaction of an ordinary donut, without the dense “remember how bad I am for you” doughiness of an ordinary donut. It requires only a dollop of icing on top and is a pleasantly mild way to ruin your diet before 9 am.

I am very fond of the cruller, despite its manipulations (oh, fluffy sweet pastry, how can you taste so right and be so wrong?) and fortitude-destroying deliciousness. So how surprised was I when I pointed to my beloved pastry this morning at Graham’s Bakery, asking for the vanilla-topped cruller, only to be told that I was not looking at a cruller at all?

The lovely woman helping me at the counter insisted that their crullers were the long donuts on the bottom row, most assuredly filled with some kind of fluffy icing or custard. I wanted to scoff at her, “Madam, I know crullers, and THOSE are not crullers.”

But I was momentarily thrown. I shrugged, pointed to the vanilla-topped non-“cruller” cruller, and went on my way. After all, a cruller by any other name is still as sweet… but what gives?

2 responses to “Good Morning, Cruller and Cruller Imposters

  1. Crullers are awesome. Now I am having a cruller craving. And by that I mena a real cruller not some long donut filled w/ceam (isn’t that an eclair? or elongated jelly donut?). I think it is the light, airy, non-donut texture that makes crullers so tasty – like dessert for breakfast.

  2. I grew up eating those from Graham’s, and they always called them “French donuts.” I prefer that to “crullers” because I never feel right pronouncing it…I can’t figure out what to do with that first syllable. Is it “uh” as in “hut” or is it “ew” as in “crew”?

Leave a Reply

