Good Morning! And Goodbye, Cold!

It was the cold that would not go away. For a week straight, I’ve been recovering, trying to get back some semblance of mental clarity and energy. Even a week later, I’m still getting back to full strength. I was active for most of Saturday and early Sunday, but I used the last four episodes of The Wire Season One and the season finale of Mad Men as an excuse to be more than a little lazy this past Sunday evening.

I managed to make it out to the Strip District this Saturday for a bit of shopping, a bit of eating (look for a write-up on Chicken Latino in the next few days), and a visit to the first Pittsburgh Indie Comics Expo (PIX), which was awesome. I was sixteen when I got into underground comics, mostly thanks to Trina Robbins, whose books A Century of Women Cartoonists and From Girls to Grrrlz: A History of Women in Comics showed me that I was not alone in being the girl at the comics convention searching for the one or two tables of comics that didn’t concern superheroes or monsters. (Although, I eventually came around on superhero and monster comics.)  The cartoonists I learned about gave me a good alternative avenue into the world of underground comics. I sent away for little self-published comic zines and followed my favorite web comics religiously. I found out about Maus and Persepolis and Blankets, and then began tracking down every coming-of-age graphic novel I could find. I tried my hand at my own comics (and mostly failed), corresponded with some genuinely talented artists and pined for a local indie comics convention similar to ones I had read about taking place in Seattle and Portland, New York and Chicago.

I saw the flier for PIX at the Toonseum during the last Gallery Crawl and though I knew I would be in attendance, I had no idea it would be as well executed as it was. There were easily three dozen plus vendors, local and regional artists, with plenty of comics and miscellaneous works on display and for sale. All the artists we spoke to seemed to be really pleased with both the space (I had no idea that the Guardian Storage space would be such a beautiful space), the attendance, and the support of those running the event. If the considerable flow of people and general contentment of the artists participating was any indication, I’ll be looking forward to the second annual PIX sometime next year.

So I ate a great meal, picked up a few comics (RPM by Rachel Masilamani, issues #1 and #2, and Mildly Irritateing by Katie Omberg), then returned for a bit of produce shopping before heading home. In honor of the weekend’s bounty, here’s a weekend scramble recipe!

A Sunday Morning Spent Reading Comics Scramble

Ingredients
– One link of soy chorizo (I LOVE Trader Joe’s soy chorizo)
– Five to seven small red potatoes, diced (Stan’s – Strip District)
– One medium red onion, chopped (Stan’s)
– One green bell pepper, sliced (Stan’s)
– One red bell pepper, sliced (Stan’s)
– 3/4 cups sliced mushrooms (Stan’s)
– Avocado (either sliced or mashed into guacamole)
– Onion salt
– Paprika
– Turmeric
– Cumin
– Creole seasoning
– Crushed red pepper
– Tortillas (Reyna’s in the Strip, produced and packaged in-house)

1. Pre-heat oven @ 350 degrees. Lightly an oil a baking sheet.
2. Chop up potatoes. Spread them around on the baking sheet. To taste, add onion salt, creole seasoning. Mix up potatoes until seasonings are spread evenly.
3. Bake potatoes for fifteen minutes, flipping potatoes frequently to prevent sticking. Bake until browned and crispy.
4. While potatoes are baking, saute onions, peppers, and mushrooms. After the veggies are soft, add the soy chorizo. Season with paprika, turmeric, crushed red pepper and cumin.
5. Put a warm tortilla on the plate. Add potatoes, then veggie-chorizo mixture, then top with avocado or guacamole. Enjoy on top of tortilla or folded as a burrito.

Leave a Reply

