Sniffle. Good Morning! Cough.

Ugh, I can’t decide what’s worse about having a cold: not enjoying anything that I consume (be it Cures What Ails Ya Garlic Soup from Sarah Kramer’s La Dolce Vegan or toast with honey or cup after cup after cup of green tea) or not being able to think clearly. Without my mental faculties in place and my appetite leading the way, my drive to food-write is at a low right now.

So, for this morning, my meager offering is my current sick food recipe of choice:

Gypsy Soup
Ingredients (This is a bit of a kitchen sink soup – simply by matching flavors, you can feel free to  add whatever you think will be best. Below are the ingredients I usually use)
– 4 tbsp of olive oil
– 2 cups chopped yellow onion
– 2 cups peeled and shaved white sweet potato (simply peel then keep peeling)
– 2 – 4 cloves garlic, crushed
– 2 tsp smoked paprika
– 1 tsp group turmeric
– 1 tsp dried basil
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 pinch ground cinnamon
– 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
– 3 cups vegetable broth
– 1 tbsp soy sauce (tamari)
– 1 cup chopped tomato
– 1 1/2 cups garbanzo beans
– 2 cups chopped bell peppers (I usually use green and yellow)

Directions: Throw everything into a slow cooker and cook on high for three to six hours.

Seriously, that’s it. That’s why it’s a great soup for a head-cold day. Just throw it all in, forget about it, and by the time you’re ready to eat something, the soup is ready.

Meanwhile, anybody want to run out to the store and grab me some Pertussin?

Leave a Reply

