This Week on the Dormont-Brookline Patch: Sugar, Sugar!

So normally, I am about five steps behind the happenings around town. Recently, I’ve become more in the know about newly opening restaurants, the buzzed about places, the comings and goings of the food life in Pittsburgh. Yet, I’m never on top of a story.

Well, when you live down the street from a hotly anticipated, soon-to-open cafe, you keep your eyes peeled for signs of life. But how I found out that the Sugar Cafe was going to open on Friday morning wasn’t good scouting, but some terrific luck. My pal, Jackie, who lives right down the street from me on West Liberty Avenue, was walking back from my apartment on Broadway sometime after midnight on Thursday, when she spied that the slowly deteriorating paper shrouding the big windows of Sugar Cafe had finally been torn down. I received a text and that was that.

What a little blurb on the blog doesn’t tell you is that I have become borderline obsessed with this place. Okay, that’s a bit of a hyperbole. But for someone who has trouble working at home, it’s become a minor godsend. I get off the T a stop early at Potomac, stroll down to the cafe, have a cup of coffee, pastry (I’m just pretending that everything in the cafe is magic and doesn’t have calories), and sit down to write for a while. I know the whole thing of going to a cafe to write is seen as sort of pretentious, and maybe it is. You know what else it is? FRIGGIN SWEET.

For my first weekday evening in the cafe, I got to sit down with the owner, Kelly James, to discuss her fantastic opening weekend. I definitely suggest reading the article, but more importantly, I highly recommend the Sugar Cafe. Come by any weekday between 5:30 and 6:00, and you’ll likely me see there, typing and sipping away.

(Note: Article is not live on the site as of yet. I will update post when it is active.)

Sugar Cafe on Urbanspoon

4 responses to “This Week on the Dormont-Brookline Patch: Sugar, Sugar!

  1. When I go to Espresso a Mano to write I pound an article out like it’s nothing. Being out in public is inspiring, so is good coffee.

  2. Sugar would not be the same without you typing away. Loving our Dormont regulars!

  3. I can’t wait to try this place! I am envious of your already frequent visits!

    • Don’t be too envious. I’m spending a small fortune (not to mention completely disregarding my long-standing attempt to eat less sweets). But it’s worth it to help support, in whatever small doses, this great new local business. Truth be told, I really did miss living around places like Sugar. I think Dormont is approaching an exciting new world with this business, and I really want other upstarts to consider bringing their operations to the Potomac Avenue business district.

      If you and your SP pick a day in the future to visit, let me know. I’d love to buy you both a cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

