Good Morning! And Merry Post-Christmas!

Everyone have a good Christmas? Get lots of presents? Eat lots of food? Spend quality time with your loving family?

Good. Now get back to work.

Is there anything worse than returning to work after a holiday? Especially Christmas, with its focus on family and traditions and planning, cooking, and eating big meals, then the inevitable clean-up and after-dinner games and (at least in some families) bitter arguments.

I, for one, find Christmas nearly as exhausting as going to work (although with more cookies). You hardly get any time to yourself. You’re constantly bombarded by family rituals and traditions, and what’s more, say you get a few hours to yourself Christmas night (maybe your family is in a catatonic state, watching 27/7 Penguins Capitals), there’s nothing to do and nowhere to go. Well, except maybe a Chinese restaurant.



Anyway, several days and nights away from my home ended up making me a little…cranky. Within three hours of returning to my apartment, I felt enormously better. There’s just something comforting in the retreat from a family environment. Does this make me anti-Christmas? I hope not. I love Christmas. I just like when it’s over too.

Now it’s time to get back to work, both my cubicle work (meh) and writin’n’postin on this here blog. This week, expect photos of the family Christmas feast (a table shared by both an enormous amount of baked ham and a vegan roast) later on this week. Also, I received the incredible Veganomicon as one of my presents this year, so I will be trying out a few of the Isa and Terry recipes (Ooh, Chili Cornmeal Crusted Tofu…) and sharing the results. Also, I hope to bang out a few more entries in the Vegan A to Z series.

And I’m really really hoping to try the new restaurant out toward Robinson, The Loving Hut, which is an international vegan chain that also might be a cult. Let’s shake off this post-Christmas, pre-New Year’s malaise with some soy shrimp and brainwashing. Hail, Seitan!

One response to “Good Morning! And Merry Post-Christmas!

  1. Ohh I know how you feel! I have loved all the baking & cooking & hosting and having my family here but when they started returning home, I breathed a small sigh of relief. We are slowly reclaiming our house from the XMas mess/guests. And tomorrow, everyone will be gone, I will cry because I miss having my family nearby, Greg will go back to work, and life will return to normal. I’m feeling relief and sadness!!

Leave a Reply

