Stew! Stew! Stew!

Harvest Pumpkin Stew from VeganJoy

Oh boy oh boy! Do you feel that chill in the air? That bite in the wind? We’re in serious November weather territory now. It may get up to the fifties today and tomorrow, but it’s a steady decline into 40, even 30-degree temperatures. Soon that gray rain will be white snow. Makes me want to do a little dance of joy! And eat some stew!

I’ve had disagreements in the past on what distinguishes a stew from a soup. I tend to go with the Supreme Court-esque opinion, “I know it when I see it.” Or, rather, I know it when I taste it, cause looks can be deceiving. If pressed, I’d say that a stew should have about fifty percent less liquid than soup. Usually, you want a viscosity that is far thicker than your average soup broth, but not all stews are made the same. One man’s stew may be another man’s soup, but it’s not for us to judge. It’s (hopefully) for us to eat!

Enjoy your November rain a little more by trying out a few exceptional stew recipes:

- Nicole over at Cooking with Nicole tries out an Eggplant Stew from Madhur Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian. It actually reminds me a lot of the gypsy stew I make, but with eggplant and mushrooms and made much, much quicker. Love the shot of her veggies simmering. Makes me want curry and eggplant right. now.

- Seitan is my Motor offers a decent way to use a slowly aging head of cabbage by making a flavorful, almost-goulash Cabbage Stew. Looks amazing, and as served over rice, is guaranteed to be belly filling. Time I went out and got some cabbage.

- VeganJoy has given me an excellent idea for what to prepare for the upcoming Friendsgiving with this delicious and adorable looking Harvest Pumpkin Stew. A little involved, yes, but looks like it’s worth the time investment in sight and taste.

Chickpea and Green Bean Stew from Vegan Awakening

- Vegan Awakening serves up a perfect pantry-cleaning Chickpea and Green Bean Stew. I almost always have a can or two of chickpeas in the cupboard, as well as a bag of frozen green beans. This looks like a fantastic stew to whip on days too cold or rainy to leave the house for supplies.

- Finally, yes, a meaty stew. Mike teaches us how to make the Korean stew, Doenjang jjigae.  Yes, it also has tofu and veggies, but there’s more than enough beef in there to satisfy you meat-lovers. Plus, Mike recommends adding fish and poultry, so if you so desire, this can be a meat free for all.

Stew! Stew! Stew!

Oh, and yes, for musical entertainment and because it’s about as long as it takes to make a stew:

4 responses to “Stew! Stew! Stew!

  1. I LOVE November Rain… fav song… good music with good food.

  2. Love stew! thanks for sharing the links

  3. Thanks for including me :) Love the song choice.

  4. Mmmm stew — that sounds like a good cold weather meal and we’ve never thought to make stew. Eggplant stew sounds good.

Leave a Reply

